Better to be well prepared than quickly established

“You want to start a 100 % foreign owned company in Thailand? No problem, takes a day!” These and similarly tempting promises are quickly obtained when seeking legal advice in Thailand.

What is offered here “loosely” and often for a fee of less than 2,000 EUR, however, often ends in disaster for the interested company or the founder. In the end, all that remains is a costly dissolution or restructuring.

Of course, every foreigner in Thailand can found a 100% foreign owned company. However, one must also tell him which business he is then allowed to do with his company. For example, the Foreign Business Act (FBA) prohibits services and trade for companies with a non-Thai majority of shareholders. A work permit for the company owner is also not a matter of course. There are strict conditions for this as well.


So, the question to a lawyer in Thailand should not be; “How long does it take to set up a company and what does it cost? The main question should be: “What do I have to do to make my business in Thailand legal?”


At Sanet Legal Ltd., the German law firm in Bangkok, the interested party first receives a questionnaire in which important questions about his project can be answered in a multiple-choice procedure. This is followed by advice on the correct legal form, the regulations on capital, shareholders and directors and any other necessary applications for approval of the project.

As a result you can be sure that you have chosen the right company structure.


“The legal and business consulting team in Thailand will also be happy to advise you free of charge via Skype for Business or by telephone.”

 

Free Online Consultation

Preparing business decisions in Asia despite travel restrictions

Many companies have suspended business trips to Asia because of the corona virus. Nevertheless, talks to prepare important decisions do not have to wait. Sanet Legal Ltd. and the German consulting group SANET ASEAN ADVISORS therefore offer a free online consultation hour until the end of March 2020 for questions about company formation, sales, investment or procurement in Thailand and ASEAN. Usually this takes place on Thursdays from 08:00 h to 12:00 h CET (Central European Time).


Just send an e-mail to info@sanet.eu with the keyword “ONLINE CONSULTANCY” and your contact details and you will receive a short-term appointment proposal for this consultation.


Be cautious with the “RepOffice” in Thailand

The easy way into illegality

No country in Asia is enthusiastic about Representative Offices (RO). As a non-investment form of activity by foreigners, they are considered to be of little help to the country. In Thailand, too, it is a considerable risk to initiate, organize or otherwise support the parent company in sales transactions with such a Representative office.

Many companies believe that as long as the RO does not conclude any business or contracts of its own, they will not make themselves liable to prosecution. This is a fatal error.

Representative offices are limited to very specific activities. These include, for example, monitoring the Thai economy and sourcing goods from Thailand as well as monitoring their quality. The presentation of new products and services of the parent company is the only permitted in reference to sales.

Accompanying negotiations about orders or accepting and supporting the handling of orders from the parent company is as much the safe way into illegality as would be the direct conclusion of sales transactions.


The consequences are far-reaching: prison sentences and fines for those responsible for the Representative Office and tax treatment as a (prohibited) permanent establishment. This can then make all sales of the parent company to Thailand taxable. A nightmare for financial management at home in Europe will then come true.


Thailand offers various ways to support the parent company in the country with sales or even to obtain a Foreign Business License directly. So why continue along the dangerous path via a representative office?

If you maintain a “RepOffice” in Thailand or are planning a sales representative office, ask Sanet Legal Ltd. at info@sanet.eu for the right way to legally organize your activities in Thailand.

Gut vorbereitet ist besser als schnell gegründet

„Sie wollen eine 100 % eigene Firma in Thailand gründen? Kein Problem, dauert einen Tag!“ Diese und ähnliche Versprechen erhält man schnell, wenn man in Thailand Rechtsberatung sucht.

Was hier oft „locker“ und unter 2.000 EUR angeboten wird, endet allerdings für das interessierte Unternehmen oder den Gründer nicht selten im Disaster. Am Ende bleibt nur die teure Auflösung oder Umstrukturierung.

Natürlich kann jeder Ausländer in Thailand eine 100 % eigene Gesellschaft gründen. Allerdings muss man ihm auch sagen, welche Geschäfte er dann mit seiner Firma betreiben darf. So sind Dienstleistungen und Handel für Unternehmen mit nicht-thailändischer Gesellschaftermehrheit durch den Foreign Business Act (FBA) verboten. Auch eine Arbeitsgenehmigung für den Firmeninhaber ist nicht etwa eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Auch hierfür gibt es strenge Bedingungen.


Die Frage an einen Rechtsanwalt in Thailand sollte also nicht sein: „Wie lange dauert eine Firmengründung und was kostet sie?“. Im Vordergrund sollte die Frage stehen: „Wie muss ich vorgehen, um meine Geschäfte in Thailand legal zu gestalten?“


Bei Sanet Legal Ltd., der deutschen Anwaltskanzlei in Bangkok, erhält der Interessent zunächst einmal einen Fragebogen, bei dem wichtige Fragen zu seinem Vorhaben im Multiple-Choice-Verfahren beantwortet werden können. Danach folgt die Beratung über die richtige Rechtsform, die Vorschriften zu Kapital, Gesellschaftern und Direktoren und eventuell nötige Anträge zur Genehmigung des Vorhabens.

Im Ergebnis können Sie sicher sein, die richtige Firmenstruktur gewählt zu haben.


„Das Beratungsteam für Recht und Business in Thailand berät Sie auch gern kostenlos über Skype for Business oder per Telefon.“

Kostenlose Online-Sprechtage

Trotz Reisebeschränkungen Geschäftsentscheidungen in Asien vorbereiten

Viele Unternehmen haben wegen des Corona-Virus Geschäftsreisen nach Asien vorläufig ausgesetzt. Gespräche zur Vorbereitung wichtiger Entscheidungen müssen dennoch nicht warten. Sanet Legal Ltd. und die deutsche Beratergruppe SANET ASEAN ADVISORS bieten deshalb vorläufig bis Ende März 2020 eine kostenlose Onlinesprechstunde zu Fragen rund um Firmengründung, Vertrieb, Investition oder Beschaffung in Thailand und ASEAN an. In der Regel findet diese donnerstags von 08:00 Uhr bis 12:00 Uhr MEZ statt.


Senden Sie einfach eine E-mail mit dem Stichwort „ONLINE BERATUNG“ und Ihre Kontaktdaten an info@sanet.eu. Sie erhalten einen kurzfristigen Terminvorschlag für diese Beratung.


Vorsicht mit dem „RepOffice“ in Thailand

Der leichte Weg in die Illegalität

Kein Land Asiens ist begeistert von „Representative Offices (RO)“. Als nicht-investive Betätigungsform von Ausländern gelten sie als wenig hilfreich für das Land. Auch in Thailand ist es ein erhebliches Risiko, mit einer solchen Repräsentanz vertriebliche Handelsgeschäfte anzubahnen, zu organisieren oder in sonst irgendeiner Weise die Muttergesellschaft beim Verkauf zu unterstützen.

Viele Unternehmen glauben, solange das RepOffice keine eigenen Geschäfte oder Verträge abschließt, mache man sich nicht strafbar. Das ist ein fataler Irrtum.

Representative Offices sind auf ganz bestimmte Aktivitäten beschränkt. Dazu gehören zum Beispiel die Beobachtung der thailändischen Wirtschaft und Beschaffung von Waren aus Thailand sowie deren Qualitätsüberwachung. Die Vorstellung neuer Produkte und Dienstleistungen der Muttergesellschaft ist der einzige erlaubte Bezug zum Vertrieb.

Die Begleitung von Verhandlungen über Aufträge oder die Annahme und Unterstützung der Abwicklung von Aufträgen der Muttergesellschaft ist ebenso der sichere Weg in die Illegalität wie es der direkte Abschluss von Verkaufsgeschäften wäre.


Die Konsequenzen sind weitreichend: Es drohen Gefängnis- und Geldstrafen für die Verantwortlichen des Representative Office und die steuerliche Behandlung als (verbotene) Betriebsstätte. Diese kann dann alle Verkäufe der Muttergesellschaft nach Thailand steuerpflichtig machen. Ein Albtraum für das Finanzmanagement zu Hause in Europa wird dann wahr.


Thailand bietet verschiedene Wege, die Muttergesellschaft im Land vertrieblich zu unterstützen oder sogar direkt eine Foreign Business License zu erhalten. Warum also den  Weg über ein Representative Office weiter gehen?

Wenn Sie ein „RepOffice“ in Thailand unterhalten oder eine Vertriebsrepräsentanz planen, fragen Sie Sanet Legal Ltd. unter info@sanet.eu nach dem richtigen Weg, ihre Aktivitäten in Thailand legal zu organisieren.